CLU — Chartered Life Underwriter

Certification Status

Currently offered and recognized by the issuing organization

Prerequisites/ Experience

Candidates must complete four pre-requisite courses or hold the CFP, CPA, CA, CMA or CGA designations.

At the time of application for the CLU designation, the candidate must attest to having completed at least four years of experience within, or related to, the financial-services industry.

Educational Requirements

Candidates must complete three foundational courses.

See CLU® Designation Path for course descriptions

Exam Type

Final open-book, case-based narrative response exam

Continuing Education

30 hours of continuing education each year

Investor Complaint Process
Public Disciplinary Process
Check Professional's Status Online

Online at Institute Public Registry

Welcome to!

We have a new look! You can find the Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization (CIRO) at with our fresh look and feel.

You can now find new publications published by CIRO since January 1, 2023 on If you are looking for past notices or bulletins published by MFDA or IIROC, you can find those on our legacy websites. Enforcement related content will continue on those websites as well.

You can now find previous Annual Reports and Enforcement Reports on, along with Halts and Resumption, and our ePublications sign up (for all previous MFDA and IIROC subscriber lists).

We will continue moving items off MFDA and IIROC in 2023/2024. Stay tuned for future updates.